

The 2nd Annual Sterling awards were presented June 26, 1989 at the Mayfield Dinner Theatre in Edmonton with hosts Kate Newby & Jeff Haslam. The Sterling Newcomer was Elizabeth Brown.

# **Outstanding Production of a Play**

Barbarians (Workshop West)
Burn This (Citadel Theatre)
The Flight of the Earls (Phoenix Theatre)
Nothing Sacred (National Arts Centre/Citadel Theatre)\*

#### **Outstanding Production of a Musical**

Bittersuite (Leave It To Jane/Nexus Theatre)
Haunting Melody (Theatre Network)\*
Jazz Hot (Kompany!)

# Outstanding New Play (award to playwright)

Barbarians, Blake Brooker (Workshop West)

David for Queen, John Lazarus (Theatre Network/Catalyst)

Haunting Melody, Marianne Copithorne & Murray McCune (Theatre Network)

Prairie Report, Frank Moher (Workshop West)\*

### Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Christine MacInnis, The Flight of the Earls (Phoenix Theatre)

Kate Newby, The Artificial Jungle (Phoenix Theatre)

Martha Ross, The Anger in Earnest and Earnestine (Northern Light Theatre)

Maralyn Ryan, Hunting Cockroaches (Phoenix Theatre)\*

# Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Andrew Dolha, David for Queen (Theatre Network/Catalyst Theatre)\*

Blair Haynes, Barbarians (Workshop West)

Randy Hughson, Sky (Theatre Network/25th St. Theatre)

Richard McMillan, Three Men on a Horse (Citadel Theatre)

### Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Patricia Darbasie, Barbarians (Workshop West)\*

Creona McDonald, Angry Housewives (Citadel/Arts Club)

Valerie Pearson, Gravel Run (Theatre Network)

Barbara Reese, The Flight of the Earls (Phoenix Theatre)

#### Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Jeff Haslam, Burn This (Citadel Theatre)\*

Jeffrey Hirschfield, The Flight of the Earls (Phoenix Theatre)

David Mann, Barbarians (Workshop West)

Gary Reineke, Nothing Sacred (NAC/Citadel Theatre)

#### **Outstanding Director**

Bill Glassco, Nothing Sacred (National Arts Centre/ Citadel Theatre)\*

Jim Guedo, The Flight of the Earls (Phoenix Theatre)

Gerry Potter, Barbarians (Workshop West)

Gillian Raby, The Corporate Nightmare of Rembrandt Brown (Northern Light Theatre)

#### **Outstanding Production of a Collective**

The Gift of the Magi (Leave It To Jane)

Greater Tuna (S.O.B. Productions)\*

#### **Outstanding Set Design**

David Belke, The Sexton of Dingley Dell (Nexus Theatre)

Mary Kerr, Nothing Sacred (NAC/Citadel)\*

Robert Shannon, The Artificial Jungle (Phoenix Theatre)

David Skelton, Hunting Cockroaches (Phoenix Theatre)

# **Outstanding Costume Design**

Kerry Hackett, Hunting Cockroaches (Phoenix Theatre)

Mary Kerr, Nothing Sacred (NAC/Citadel Theatre)\*

Doug Paraschuk, Plutocrats (Northern Light Theatre)

David Skelton, Barbarians (Workshop West)

### **Outstanding Lighting Design**

J. James Andrews, The Lady from the Sea (Northern Light Theatre)

Morris Ertman, The Corporate Nightmare of Rembrandt Brown (Northern Light Theatre)\*

Lynne Hyde, Nothing Sacred (Citadel Theatre)

Don MacKenzie, Hunting Cockroaches (Phoenix Theatre)

# **Outstanding Sound Design/Composition**

Jim Guedo & Hiroshi Takahashi, The Flight of the Earls (Phoenix Theatre)

Gary Lloyd & Jay Magus, The Artificial Jungle (Phoenix Theatre)\*

Murray McCune, Haunting Melody (Theatre Network)

Peter Moller, Barbarians (Workshop West)

### **Outstanding Musical Director**

Ross Douglas, Angry Housewives (Arts Club Tour/Citadel)

Laurie Fumagalli, Bittersuite (Leave It To Jane)\*

Randy Meuller, Jazz Hot (Kompany)

Allison Russell, Haunting Melody (Theatre Network)

#### **Outstanding Production for Young Audiences**

Le Petit Prince (Boite a Popicos)\*

The Lord of the Rings (Theatre Sans Fil)

The Mirrorman (Stage Polaris)

#### **Outstanding Contribution to Theatre in Edmonton**

Joseph H. Shoctor